Top 10 bands I forgot about whilst trying to forget my ‘emo’ stage

So today I hooked up my iPhone to my laptop to do a regular back up – ever since that iCloud scam, I don’t trust backing things up to that, and as always iTunes booted up with it. Now ever since I’ve found grooveshark and Spotify, I don’t tend to use my iTunes. I also managed to wipe all of my music files upon transfer of my new laptop three years ago so in fact, all of the files that are present in my iTunes library are in fact completely corrupt and don’t work, so it figures I don’t use it at all.

For some unknown reason today, I had the real urge to listen to an old song that I remember was popular back in 2006 – the year of Myspace, big hair, coloured skinny jeans and the emo era (or it was for me at least). I YouTube’d the song, and to my delight, I remembered every word. It also made me feel rather nostalgic, so I decided to do a quick flick through my library, which admittedly hasn’t been updated since 2009.

To my surprise, there were a number of bands that hadn’t crossed my mind in a good few years. What surprised me even more was how much I really enjoyed them!

Just for lols and for my own amusement, I’ve compiled a list of the ten bands that I’m proud to admit, I still thoroughly enjoy, in ascending order starting with number 10, some of which are still popular today:

10 – Paramore
9 – All Time Low
8 – Dashboard Confessional
7 – Silverstein
6 – 3 Doors Down
5 – Taking Back Sunday
4 – Bullet for my Valentine
3 – Hawthorne Heights
2 – HIM
1 – Bring Me The Horizon

I’m still crazy for Ville Valo and Oli Skyes – come to mumma! I would also turn lesbian for Hayley Williams – and what?

One thought on “Top 10 bands I forgot about whilst trying to forget my ‘emo’ stage

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.